Lesser Arcadia

    Research output: Non-textual formDigital or Visual Products


    Lesser Arcadia is an audio work in four episodes. This weird sonic fiction takes the form of a picaresque about ordinary secret knowledge and a park that is turning into a zone. The narrative relates a protagonist’s semi- or alter-rational route through a city park in counterpoint with the story of a starving seagull who finds itself in the Scottish Highlands surviving on roadkill. Lesser Arcadia occupies pockets and margins where alternative possibilities are conceivable but also struggle to be realized – where nothing is hidden but everything is obscure. The audio work is accompanied by a live performance – Ghost Dog Rise – an attempt to summon the spirit of the park/zone even as it resists this symbolic burden. The project is conceived, written and performed by Johanna Linsley with sound design by Jan Mertens.

    Lesser Arcadia was commissioned by D21 Gallery in Leipzig for the exhibition Sentient Matter, curated by Tuçe Erel & Tina Ribarits, 20.11.2021-19.12.2022
    Original languageEnglish
    Media of outputOnline
    Publication statusPublished - 20 Nov 2021


    Dive into the research topics of 'Lesser Arcadia'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this